Pattern Design/Writing Question

My latest pattern is off to testing, and I’ve already started on my newest project. It’s called the ‘Painted Dreams’ Fall Poncho, and it’s another crochet pattern I’m writing.

But I have a couple of questions about this particular pattern, because I’ve never written a stash buster pattern before. I’m basically using random left over yarn from other projects, some of which I’ve had for literally decades. I don’t remember half of the color names from the yarn I’m using… so how do you list colors in a stash buster pattern, if you don’t know the names of the colors you are using?

Also, I have a stitch at each end of the pattern… that is actually a ‘frame’ for the pattern. Meaning you work them, but they aren’t actually part of the pattern, because you need them for the edging that comes later. I’m not sure I’m explaining in a way that’s clear…

I would try to find as many yarn and color names as you can, just for accuracy’s sake, but you can also say something like “other assorted yarns, worsted weight” (or whatever weight).

What is your question about the “frame” stitches? If they are part of the row, they do need to be included in the written instructions, even if they’re not part of the pattern stitch.

@SDMcDaniel , I don’t crochet much, but plenty of knitting patterns have in the general directions at the top a statement like “The 3 sts at the beginning and end of each row are not included in the stitch counts, line-by-line instructions, or the chart.” Such instructions typically are for a border stitch of some kind to prevent the fabric edges from rolling.