Tote Bag Strap Trouble

So I’m not really a designer. I like to knit and also found that learning to crochet was useful too. A few years ago(while I was in the learning process) I crocheted two really beautiful 12" by 12" granny squares and decided to turn them into a tote bag. I figured it would be easy enough. Just sew them together and crochet a strap, right? Wrong. I have fiddled and reworked it, stuck the whole thing in a bag for a couple years, pulled it out, reworked, ripped it apart, tried something different, and ripped that out too. The next thing I might rip out is my hair, lol. I have tried both knitted and crocheted straps, and nothing seems to work, they are either way too stretchy or weak or pull away from the bag at the join. Any advice would be most welcome.

@AAB, ​​instead of simply sewing the two squares together along three edges, try making a loooooonnnnggg strap of desired width that is also what joins the two squares together.

Oy, the image in my mind is hard to describe in words!

I would start at one of the two lower corners (lower meaning the part that would be touching the floor if you set the bag down). Make a chain long enough for a strap, say, two inches wide. At the end of each row, do a join to a stitch in one of the squares. Work along the bottom, back and forth, joining the strap row to the square on that side, turn, work across the strap (which is really a gusset joining the two squares), and join the strap row to the other square.

Turn the corner of the squares and work up the now-vertical edge. When you get to the top corner on that side, work the strap to the desired length, then start joining the end of each row to the other top corners of the two squares, joining at the end of each strap/gusset row as before. When you get to the bottom corner at the second vertical side, you’ll be back where you started, so crochet into the other side of your initial strap foundation chain to close the two ends of the strap/gusset.