Announcement

Collapse

Forum Etiquette - Please Read Before Posting

Please read the forum etiquette, by posting here you agree to be part of a polite society. https://vb.ourunraveled.com/articles...rum-ettiquette
See more
See less

Group Owner/Moderation?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Group Owner/Moderation?

    Admin - Is there a way for Group Owners to moderate their groups by deleting or moving posts?
    Naperville, IL - Growing Zone 5

    #2
    I thought group owners had that ability but I will have to test it with my alter ego... Since I have all the admin privs sometimes it's hard to see what normal users have.
    “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." -- Edmund Burke

    Comment


    • lovestostitch
      lovestostitch commented
      Editing a comment
      I looked before asking and didn't see anything. If the answer is yes, please advise how we do it.

    • Admin
      Admin commented
      Editing a comment
      I invited you to a test group using my other account so we can test it out, I can delete and merge my own topics/groups. Can you try creating one in my group (TestGroup) and I'll see what options are available.

    • lovestostitch
      lovestostitch commented
      Editing a comment
      Admin - I got the notification about the Test Group but when I followed the link, it asked me to join. I clicked Join but got the message that I needed an invitation.

    #3
    Ok, so I see your post and I have the option to delete it or merge it (can't move it).

    Click on the little numbered checkbox at the right of the post, then the pencil and paper near the top of the topic.

    These options should be available to any group owner or moderator as the account I'm testing under is just a "registered user" with group ownership.
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2019-09-01 19-30-43.png
Views:	116
Size:	2.3 KB
ID:	24146
    Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2019-09-01 19-30-58.png
Views:	88
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	24147
    “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." -- Edmund Burke

    Comment


    #4
    Admin These choices are definitely available to owners. I merged some posts yesterday.

    Also, is there any way to remove deleted threads? I had to delete a thread in a group I mod (the ISO & Destash group), but it still shows up on the threads list as deleted. It would be great to be able to make it go away - or better/alternatively to be able to archive threads to another location rather than delete.

    Comment


    • Admin
      Admin commented
      Editing a comment
      It should only show up as deleted to you, "normal" users won't see that, one nice thing about being able to see the deleted stuff is sometimes links will still point to it and people will get an unauthorized error, at least if someone asks you can see it to tell them it was deleted.

    • knitterlady13
      knitterlady13 commented
      Editing a comment
      Admin - Aha! OK. I didn't realize that other users couldn't see that. Thanks.

    #5
    Admin I'm learning things in this thread. I don't know what the Merge posts means and Invert selection , is there a place that explains what these mean. Learning as I go! Thank You!
    Nothing is impossible, the word itself say's "I'm Possible"
    Audrey Hepburn

    Comment


    • Admin
      Admin commented
      Editing a comment
      The help pages have a decent amount of info, but not all the details on moderation. https://fiberkind.com/help

      Probably having a "group moderation 101" wouldn't be a bad idea.

    #6
    Admin Thanks for the link--going to check it out. Group mod 101, great idea!
    Nothing is impossible, the word itself say's "I'm Possible"
    Audrey Hepburn

    Comment


      #7
      Admin - When I set up the Yarn Sale Alerts group, I thought I saw a choice for how people could join. The two choices were me approving them or automatic approval. I thought I chose automatic. I've gotten a few that needed approval but others were automatic. I went back through the settings to double check and could not find that setting. Can you clarify where that setting is and any explanation for why some people need approval?
      Naperville, IL - Growing Zone 5

      Comment


      • wheat
        wheat commented
        Editing a comment
        ilogical as I find it to be, the setting is in "Post Settings"
        you will need to check
        SUBSCRIBER REQUESTS: Auto Accept....

      #8
      The group type is "Public", not sure why some are still needing approval, I was able to join with my alternate account without approval. "Moderated" is users request to join and have to be approved and invite would be you have to specifically add people.




      Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot from 2019-09-02 15-59-19.png
Views:	82
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	24371
      “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." -- Edmund Burke

      Comment


      • lovestostitch
        lovestostitch commented
        Editing a comment
        Admin and wheat - thanks for the help. I found the automatically accept under Post setting as Wheat said. It was not checked though I could swear I checked it. I've checked it again. The weirdest thing though is that a number of people joined without needing my approval.

      • wheat
        wheat commented
        Editing a comment
        don't feel bad, I "could swear" and then realize
        YES I checked the box, but maybe NO I did not scroll down to save the changes.
        not saying that is what you did, just what my usual failure to complete all too often.

      • lovestostitch
        lovestostitch commented
        Editing a comment
        wheat - Saving changes! Ahhh! Very possible I forgot that.

      #9
      There two types of delete - not sure if both are available to groups.
      one is a Soft Delete - and it can be reversed - say if there is something about the post you want to discuss with the group memember
      the other is a Permanent Delete, and when it gone, it is pretty much gone. The original poster may still have it in their records - I forget where but I wanted to find a post of my own I had deleted for personal reasons.
      Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, but not their own facts
      =====
      My personal views & Opinions may well not be those of the owners, management and other moderators - nor, are they intended to be personal, but may require adult sized undies.

      Comment


      • Char
        Char commented
        Editing a comment
        I believe the groups only allow for a soft delete, not permanent - I have tried when I have accidentally double posted things.

      #10
      I can only view the first page of the list of members in a group. There is a little arrow in the upper right hand corner to go to the next page but nothing happens when I click on it.
      In a world where you can be anything, be kind.

      US Gardening Zone 8B

      Comment

      Working...
      X