Announcement

Collapse

Forum Etiquette - Please Read Before Posting

Please read the forum etiquette, by posting here you agree to be part of a polite society. https://vb.ourunraveled.com/articles...rum-ettiquette
See more
See less

Notification issues

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Notification issues

    Admin - I got a notification that someone had posted on one of my subscriptions. I clicked on the location in the notification and got the following message:
    Sorry, you are not authorized to view this page.
    Please try logging in or logging in as different user Login or send a message to the admin

    I went to the profile page of the person who made the post and under her activity, I could see the post. I clicked on the location listed in her post and was taken to the correct page and was able to view the page.
    Naperville, IL - Growing Zone 5

    #2
    Admin - I keep getting the notification that I mentioned in the previous post. I have gotten it on different group notifications and they are groups that I regularly visit. I will get a notification that someone has posted on my subscription but when I click on it, I randomly get the message that I'm not authorized to view the page.
    Naperville, IL - Growing Zone 5

    Comment


    • Lightning57
      Lightning57 commented
      Editing a comment
      You aren't alone. Most of my notifications tell me the same thing.

    #3
    I recently messaged the Admin on the same issue...it was explained to me that possibly the person had deleted their comment, which was the case. But if you were able to see it, I don't think it was deleted.
    “I want creation to penetrate you with so much admiration that everywhere, wherever you may be, the least plant may bring to you the clear remembrance of the Creator. If you see the grass of the fields, think of human nature, and remember the comparison of the wise Isaiah. “All flesh is grass, and all the goodliness thereof is as the flower of the field.”
    ― Basil the Great

    Comment


    • lovestostitch
      lovestostitch commented
      Editing a comment
      I'm going to have to watch for that next time. I'm not sure now that I did read a comment from that specific person. I just know that I was able to get onto the page and read comments when I went to it a different way.

    #4
    Yeah, I get that notification every now and then, also.
    "Restriction of free thought and free speech is the most dangerous of all subversions. It is the one un-American act that could most easily defeat us." -William O. Douglas, author

    Comment


      #5
      It's because people wanted to be allowed to delete their own posts, so when someone posts something, then decides to delete it the notification has already gone out. When you click on the notification the post is gone and it give the unauthorized message since regular users aren't authorized to see deleted messages.

      This is becoming increasingly problematic... to the point where it may just be easier to remove the ability to delete posts.
      “The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." -- Edmund Burke

      Comment


        #6
        Admin , is there a way to customize the message the person sees in this situation, rather than throwing up a generic "You are not authorized to view this page" message? Or does the system not give you that kind of error-handling granularity?
        Download for free my comprehensive, twelve-hundred-page (!) book, Stitch by Bloody Stitch: Knitting Charts Explained, at my website, http://hollybriscoe.com/first-edition-announced/

        Comment


          #7
          Admin - I agree that changing the notification message is preferable. I don't think taking the delete function away is a good idea. If people change their minds about saying what they did, it could be a very good thing that they can delete their post. I think you will get as many or more bothersome questions if you remove the delete button.
          Naperville, IL - Growing Zone 5

          Comment


          • wheat
            wheat commented
            Editing a comment
            I too hope it would not be a big project to have the message read " the content may have been removed or is no longer available"

            I can think of more than a few times when I have thought better of a posting and gone back and deleted it for any number of reasons from poor grammar to probably wish I had NOT said that.

          • EllenDeKnitter
            EllenDeKnitter commented
            Editing a comment
            I also agree that changing the notification is preferable. I deleted a post the other day because I somehow managed to post it twice.
        Working...
        X