LoveCrafts 728 X 90
YOUR AD COULD BE HERE!

Click here for details.

Announcement

Collapse

Forum Etiquette - Please Read Before Posting

Please read the forum etiquette, by posting here you agree to be part of a polite society. https://fiberkind.com/articles/4133-forum-etiquette
See more
See less

Notification issues

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • EllenDeKnitter
    commented on 's reply
    I also agree that changing the notification is preferable. I deleted a post the other day because I somehow managed to post it twice.

  • wheat
    commented on 's reply
    I too hope it would not be a big project to have the message read " the content may have been removed or is no longer available"

    I can think of more than a few times when I have thought better of a posting and gone back and deleted it for any number of reasons from poor grammar to probably wish I had NOT said that.

  • lovestostitch
    replied
    Admin - I agree that changing the notification message is preferable. I don't think taking the delete function away is a good idea. If people change their minds about saying what they did, it could be a very good thing that they can delete their post. I think you will get as many or more bothersome questions if you remove the delete button.

    Leave a comment:


  • ilexedits
    replied
    Admin , is there a way to customize the message the person sees in this situation, rather than throwing up a generic "You are not authorized to view this page" message? Or does the system not give you that kind of error-handling granularity?

    Leave a comment:


  • Name_Null
    replied
    It's because people wanted to be allowed to delete their own posts, so when someone posts something, then decides to delete it the notification has already gone out. When you click on the notification the post is gone and it give the unauthorized message since regular users aren't authorized to see deleted messages.

    This is becoming increasingly problematic... to the point where it may just be easier to remove the ability to delete posts.

    Leave a comment:


  • Duellingneedles
    replied
    Yeah, I get that notification every now and then, also.

    Leave a comment:


  • lovestostitch
    commented on 's reply
    I'm going to have to watch for that next time. I'm not sure now that I did read a comment from that specific person. I just know that I was able to get onto the page and read comments when I went to it a different way.

  • Orthodox_Maiden
    replied
    I recently messaged the Admin on the same issue...it was explained to me that possibly the person had deleted their comment, which was the case. But if you were able to see it, I don't think it was deleted.

    Leave a comment:


  • Guest's Avatar
    Guest commented on 's reply
    You aren't alone. Most of my notifications tell me the same thing.

  • lovestostitch
    replied
    Admin - I keep getting the notification that I mentioned in the previous post. I have gotten it on different group notifications and they are groups that I regularly visit. I will get a notification that someone has posted on my subscription but when I click on it, I randomly get the message that I'm not authorized to view the page.

    Leave a comment:


  • lovestostitch
    started a topic Notification issues

    Notification issues

    Admin - I got a notification that someone had posted on one of my subscriptions. I clicked on the location in the notification and got the following message:
    Sorry, you are not authorized to view this page.
    Please try logging in or logging in as different user Login or send a message to the admin

    I went to the profile page of the person who made the post and under her activity, I could see the post. I clicked on the location listed in her post and was taken to the correct page and was able to view the page.

Amazon Widget

Collapse

Paypal Donate Link

Collapse

Working...
X