Girl's Leg Warmers

Hi all- Just looking for a bit of direction. My niece was home for Thanksgiving and wanted me to knit her some leg warmers. Has anybody done them? I’m an advanced beginner or intermediate knitter. I haven’t done much with DPN. I could probably handle it though. Any suggestions or tips, pattern ideas? Thanks!

I have not made them myself, but from what I can see from online patterns, they are just a tube of fabric, either straight or wider at the top and narrower at the ankle, depending on how shapely the wearer’s legs are. You could make them like the legs of socks, either top-down or bottom-up, and have a cuff/ribbed section at the top and bottom to keep them in place. If they are straight, just work to the length you need. If they are shaped, work out how many rows you will need (not counting the cuffs) and space the increases or decreases evenly over that number of rows. I did a search for patterns online and got too many answers to list separately, so here is the link:

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=pattern+for+knitted+leg+warmers&t=ffnt&ia=web

If you don’t care much for dpns you might try two circulars or the magic loop method. I use two circulars and love this method.

Depending on the size you need to make, you may be able to knit the on a 16 in. circular needle. Leg warmers usually are not as fitted as a sock would be and many will have a circumference of 16 inches or greater. I looked online and found a chart with sizes from XXS - XL and it looks like the range of circumference is (approximately) between 12 and 18 inches. I like DPNs, but if you prefer to use a circular and you have too small of circumference for 16 in. circs, you can use a long circular and magic loop or even use the 2 circulars method. Traveling (single) loop may also be an option, but I tend to prefer that with things that are a bit larger.