Hand Spinning(total newbie)

I have been wanting to get into spinning my own yarn. I have done a lot of practicing with a drop spindle. I have even played a bit with carding different fibers and then spinning them together. I recently realized that I don’t like the yarns with the halo fuzz(too stiff and pokey for me). I was told I need to spin worsted; so I went and did a bunch of reading on worsted vs woolen yarn. Where I am stuck is what do I need to make worsted yarn? I have hand carders, but those seem to be more for making woolen yarn. Do I need to get combs instead? I have some raw fiber from alpaca and a fluffy dog, lol. I have also read that roving is more for woolen yarn while combed top is for worsted yarn. The fibers I have found online seem to be all labeled the same(as if it can go either way). Is there a difference in the roving vs top(then there’s art batts too)? I know there’s a lot of questions, so even suggested reading material or how to books would be very helpful. I have been learning for months now, but it all seems to be making my mind frazzled. Thanks for any help.

Good questions all! First, congratulations on your next step down the rabbit hole! It is confusing when you are getting started using spinning terms. Woolen yarn is generally soft and fuzzy. It is spun from roving (carded fibers) in that the fibers aren’t aligned in any certain way. To spin woolen, you let the twist enter the drafting triangle so air is trapped in between the fibers so it’s considered a lofty, soft yarn. Of course, you can over twist it and it becomes nothing like lofty or soft. Long draw is an example of spinning woolen.