Wheels

Here’s one of my Tools…Spinolution Mach I converted to a Mach II by adding the larger bobbin whorl. It works great. My husband made the lazy Kate and some of the extra bobbins.

spinwhl.jpg

It’s beautiful. I would love to take a Spinolution wheel for a spin some day.

They have so many varieties. I’d love to try out some other ones too. I also have a hopper but the one in the photo is so easy to spin. Do you spin? What wheel (s) do you use if you do?

Whoa, those are seriously large bobbins on that wheel!! What’s the capacity?

4 oz plied I think.

What an interesting treadle design!

That’s a good amount!

Bettymo- I don’t know how to reply to your reply to my comment and keep it all lined up. Yes, I spin. I have been learning at it for about 8 years now. The last I spun was tunis in 3 ply fingering (Finally) for socks.

I have a lady bug and would love another wheel BUT my bug does everything I need a wheel to do now. I do look at the spinolution wheels and think I"m going to have to try one some day and see what they can do . They look so interesting!! Do you find yours is better for spinning fine or thick yarns ?

@Callielw The one in the photo Is an older one and it spins with one big toe. It has a huge range but I don’t fool around with my settings too much. It is super easy to spin because you are treading in the same direction that the wheel is spinning. This one I use for all yarns but my Hopper is more for thicker and/or art type yarns. It is a powerful wheel.

I read somewhere that all the spinolution wheels were more for thick yarn but I can’t see that as being true. :I’ve never gotten into the art yarn. I’m working hard on fingering and smaller for the kind of knitting I do. Can you get a good fingering with yours?

I have the same issue with replying to comments where there is no reply button. I end up using the QUOTE button, go to the member’s page.